

TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16th Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

Agenda Item: 6.B.

Meeting: February 16, 2021

To: Trinity LAFCO Commissioners

From: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Administrator/Clerk

Subject: Status of Commissioner Terms in 2021

BACKGROUND:

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Pursuant to CKH Act § 56332, Special Districts Members are appointed by the Independent Special District Selection Committee.

DISCUSSION:

Each year the Board of Supervisors appoints three members and one alternate to the LAFCo Commission. In January 2021, the Board appointed Cox, Frasier and Groves as regular members and Gogan as alternate.

One special district regular member position that was previously held by Thomas Walz is now vacant. A letter announcing LAFCo Special District Vacancies and Call for Nominations has been sent to each independent special district. Once nominations are received, a ballot will be sent to each district for appointing a new regular member to Trinity LAFCo. The new special district member would be seated at the June LAFCo meeting.

In April 2021, one of two regular public member positions is expiring. In addition, the alternate public member position is currently vacant. In the coming weeks, Trinity LAFCo will announce the vacancies and encourage the public to apply for these open seats.

Below is a current roster of the Commission with Term of Office;

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Jill Cox	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Keith Groves	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member	VACANT	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2022
Special District – Alternate	Pat Frost	4/30/2022
Public Member – Regular Member	Evan Barrow	4/30/2023
Public Member – Regular Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2021
Public Member – Alternate	VACANT	4/30/2021

RECOMMENDATION:

This agenda item is for information purposes only. The Commission is invited to discuss the item and provide direction to staff as needed.