

TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16th Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

Agenda Item: 2.A.

Meeting: April 20, 2021

To: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

From: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Administrator/Clerk

Subject: Special District Member Appointment Process Update

BACKGROUND:

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

County - Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors; **Special Districts** - Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and

Public Members - Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Pursuant to CKH Act § 56332, Special Districts Members are appointed by the Independent Special District Selection Committee via a nomination and mailed ballot election process conducted by the LAFCo Executive Officer.

DISCUSSION:

One special district regular member position that was previously held by Thomas Walz (Trinity Public Utilities District) became vacant in December 2020. Following the vacancy, a letter announcing the LAFCo Special District Vacancy and Call for Nominations was sent to each independent special district. The deadline to receive nominations was April 2, 2021. Considering only one nomination was received, no mailed ballot election process was required. A letter announcing the appointment of **Andrew Johnson (Trinity Public Utilities District)** was sent to all independent special districts.

The terms of office for the Special District Member positions are as follows:

- Andrew Johnson, Regular Special District Member, term ending 4/30/2024
- Joseph Kasper, Regular Special District Member, term ending 4/30/2022
- Pat Frost, Alternate Special District Member, term ending 4/30/2022

We wish to congratulate Commissioner Johnson on his appointment to LAFCo and look forward to working with him in his upcoming term of office.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends the Commission receive and file this report. The Commission is invited to discuss the item and provide direction to staff as needed.

Attachment: Letter - Notice of Nomination Results for Special District Members to serve on LAFCo



TRINITY LAFCo

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 16th Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

Date: April 9, 2021

To: Each Presiding Officer, Board Member, and General Manager/Clerk of Each

Independent Special District in Trinity County

From: Colette Santsche, LAFCo Executive Officer

Subject: Notice of Nomination Results for Special District Members to serve on LAFCo

The Trinity Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) has compiled all nominations received for the open Regular Special District seat on LAFCo. Considering only one nomination was received, no election will be required. The successful candidate has been notified and will be seated at the next regular LAFCo Commission meeting at 4:00 p.m. on April 20, 2021. Anyone who wishes to participate should consult the meeting agenda for the Zoom call-in telephone number which will be posted on the Commission's website at least 72 hours before the scheduled start time of the meeting.

We wish to congratulate Andrew Johnson, Trinity Public Utility District for his appointment to LAFCo and look forward to working with him in his upcoming term of office.

Current Special District Terms - Updated

Designations	Current Member	Term of Office
Regular Member (Seat 1 - Enterprise District)	Andrew Johnson, Trinity PUD	4/30/2024
Regular Member (Seat 2 - Non-Enterprise)	Joseph Kasper, Lewiston CSD	4/30/2022
Alternate Member (Enterprise or Non-Enterprise)	Pat Frost, Trinity Center CSD	4/30/2022