

# TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

**Date:** May 10, 2022

To: Presiding Officers and Board Members of Independent Special Districts in Trinity County

Cc: District General Managers/Clerks

From: Colette Santsche, LAFCo Executive Officer

Subject: Important Joint Meeting of All Independent Special Districts – June 21, 2022

The joint meeting previously scheduled on April 19, 2022 did not receive a quorum of independent special districts in attendance and therefore must be rescheduled. As such, the Trinity Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) requests a meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee (Selection Committee) for purposes of appointing special district members to serve on LAFCo:

**Meeting Date**: June 21, 2022 (after the LAFCo meeting)

Time: 5:30 PM -- Light food and refreshments will be provided

**Location:** Trinity County Library Meeting Room, 351 Main Street, Weaverville

**Teleconference**: Meeting Link Option:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82529918669?pwd=Y01sVk1ESGIJRzIUdW1i

NFRxNzV0dz09

Meeting ID: 825 2991 8669

**Passcode**: 815282 **Phone**: 1 669 900 6833

## The AGENDA for the Selection Committee meeting is attached.

This memorandum provides formal notice of the Selection Committee meeting and includes information on the selection process for special district members on LAFCo. *Please note that only Board members* (not staff) may serve as a voting representative at the meeting on June 21<sup>st</sup>.

### REQUEST TO INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT MANAGERS AND/OR CLERKS

- Distribute this Notice to All Members of the District Board
- Provide the name of the district's Presiding Officer or the name of the Board member to attend
  and vote in place of the presiding officer to colette@trinitylafco.org by noon June 21, 2022.
- Without a quorum of Independent Special Districts, no action can be taken at the meeting to fill the vacancy, which would delay the election and require the election process to be conducted by email/U.S. mail.

#### FOR MORE INFORMATION

Please visit <u>www.trinitylafco.org</u> for more information about LAFCo. If you have any questions about this process please email <u>colette@trinitylafco.org</u> or call 530.227.6836 (cell).

#### **BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY**

Previously a call for nominations was mailed to each independent special district requesting Board nominations to fill two (2) upcoming vacant seats as follows:

One Regular member to serve a new 4-year term ending April 30, 2026

Trinity LAFCo received one nomination for the Regular Special District position:

- Joseph Kasper, Lewiston CSD
- One Alternate member to serve a new 4-year term ending April 30, 2026

Trinity LAFCo has not received nominations for the Alternate Special District position and will accept nominations at the meeting.

## SPECIAL DISTRICT REPRESENTATION ON LAFCO AND SEATING DESIGNATIONS

We are currently accepting nominations for two special district seats as shown in the following table:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office Expires
Regular Member (Seat 1 - Enterprise)	Andrew Johnson, TPUD	4/30/2024
Regular Member (Seat 2 - Non-Enterprise)	Joseph Kasper, Lewiston CSD	4/30/2022
Alternate Member (Enterprise or Non-Enterprise)	Pat Frost, Trinity Center CSD	4/30/2022

The seating of special district representatives on Trinity LAFCo shall be in accordance with the following designations unless otherwise determined by the Selection Committee:

- 1. One regular seat shall be designated as an "Enterprise District" seat;
- 2. One regular seat shall be designated as a "Non-Enterprise District" seat; and
- 3. One alternate seat shall be designated from either an enterprise or non-enterprise district.

An "Enterprise" district is defined as any jurisdiction that derives the majority of its total revenues from user fees and/or service charges (e.g., water services). A "Non-Enterprise" district is defined as any jurisdiction that derives the majority of its total revenues from property taxes or otherwise provides services that are not conducive to user fees (e.g., fire protection).

# INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The Selection Committee membership is comprised of presiding officers of the following 19 independent special districts in Trinity County:

Enterprise Districts:
Lewiston CSD
Mountain Communities Healthcare
District (Trinity Hospital)
Ruth Lake CSD
Trinity PUD

Weaverville CSD
Weaverville Sanitary District

Non-Enterprise Districts:
Coffee Creek VFD
Douglas City CSD (fire)
Hayfork FPD
Hyampom CSD (fire)
Junction City FPD
Post Mountain PUD (fire)
Salyer CSD (fire)
Trinity Center CSD (fire)

Weaverville FPD
Greater Hayfork Valley Park &
Recreation District
Weaverville/Douglas City Park &
Recreation District
Trinity Life Support CSD (ambulance)
Trinity County Resource Conservation
District

Special Districts shall designate the presiding officer or another board member as the voting delegate for the Selection Committee meeting. Board action is not necessary to name your voting representative. District managers or other district staff members may not vote.

Selection Committee members representing a majority (10) of the independent special districts shall constitute a quorum. The Committee shall not conduct its business without a quorum of its membership.

# **SELECTION COMMITTEE MEETING PROCEDURES**

At the Selection Committee meeting, any member may submit nominations for the special district member positions. The nominees must be elected or appointed special district officers residing within the county but must not be members of the legislative body of the county. Each nominee will be given an opportunity to make a brief statement.

The selection will occur through a roll call vote of the members of the Selection Committee (i.e., each presiding officer or voting delegate of independent special districts) present at the meeting. Each member is entitled to one vote per vacant seat. The Selection Committee is encouraged to make selections that fairly represent the diversity of the independent special districts in the county, with respect to population, services, and/or geography.

If only one nomination is received for a position, that nominee is selected. The nominee who receives the majority of the votes cast is selected. If no nominee receives a majority of the votes cast, a run-off election between the two nominees who receive the greatest number of votes is held. After votes are tallied, the results will be announced.

#### TERMS OF OFFICE FOR LAFCO MEMBERS

The term of office for a LAFCo commissioner is 4 years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

A member's term of office on LAFCo will cease immediately if he or she ceases to be on the special district board. The statute also provides that a member may be removed at any time and without cause upon a majority vote of the Selection Committee.

# DISQUALIFICATION ON PROPOSALS AFFECTING THE DISTRICT

Pursuant to Government Code §56332(d), a special district member is not automatically disqualified from acting on a proposal affecting the member's special district. Any member appointed shall exercise independent judgement and represent the interests of the public as a whole and not solely the interests of the appointing authority.