

**TRINITY LAFCO** www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

#### AGENDA ITEM 3.A.

**MEETING:** October 18, 2022

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

**FROM:** Colette Metz Santsche, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Administrator/Clerk

SUBJECT: Expiring Commissioner Terms Update

### BACKGROUND

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

## DISCUSSION

Each year the Board of Supervisors appoints three regular members and one alternate to the LAFCo Commission. These appointments are made for the 2023 calendar year in January.

Currently the balloting period is open for the election and appointment of an Alternate Special District Member to serve on LAFCo. Ballots were sent to each independent special district on September 23, 2022 and are due to LAFCo by 5:00pm on November 18, 2022 (see Attachment A). Commissioner Frost may continue to serve on the Commission until the appointment and qualification of a successor in accordance with Government Code §56334.

Regular Public Member positions are currently held by Evan Barrow and Anna Burke with their terms expiring in 2023 and 2025, respectively. The Alternate Public Member position has been vacant since 2019. An application was received for the vacant position and will be considered under Agenda Item 3.B.

Below is a current roster of the Commission with Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Jill Cox	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Keith Groves, Chair	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Jeremy Brown	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Open Seat	4/30/2026
Public Member	Evan Barrow	4/30/2023
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member – Alternate	Vacant Seat	4/30/2023

# **RECOMMENDATION**

This agenda item is for information purposes only. The Commission is invited to discuss the item and provide direction to staff as needed.

Attachments:

Notice of Balloting Period to Elect a Special District Alternate Member



TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

Date: September 23, 2022

- Agenda Item 3A, Attachment A
- **To:** Presiding Officers, Board Members, and General Managers/Clerks of Each Independent Special District in Trinity County

From: Colette Santsche, LAFCo Executive Officer

#### Subject: Notice of Balloting Period to Elect a Special District Alternate Member

Independent special districts are hereby advised that the balloting period is open for the election and appointment of a Special District Alternate Member to serve on the Trinity Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo).

Trinity LAFCo has received two nominations for the Special District Alternate seat. The joint meeting previously scheduled on April 19, 2022 and June 21, 2022 did not obtain a quorum of independent special districts in attendance to conduct the election in person. Therefore, based on Government Code Section 56332 (f), it was determined that a meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee was not feasible, and the election will be conducted by mailed ballot.

The election is subject to the following:

#### **Election Rules**

- 1. Each eligible nominee shall be listed on the ballot.
- 2. Each special district will be sent only one ballot.
- 3. Each special district may cast one vote for Alternate Member.
- 4. Districts shall return the ballots to Trinity LAFCo in the pre-addressed envelope provided.
- 5. Ballots are due in the LAFCo office by 5:00 p.m., Friday, November 18, 2022.
- 6. Ballots received after the specified due date will be declared invalid.
- 7. The ballots will be opened and counted by the Executive Officer.
- 8. A quorum of ballots must be returned for the election to be valid.
- 9. The results of the election will be announced by November 25, 2022.

### **Election Scheduled Timeline**

Trinity LAFCo mailed nomination request<br/>Nominations due to LAFCoSent July 18, 2022<br/>By 5:00 p.m. September 16, 2022<br/>By September 23, 2022Ballots mailed to special districts<br/>Ballots due to LAFCoBy September 23, 2022<br/>By 5:00 p.m. November 18, 2022<br/>Downber 21, 2022 – Election Day!<br/>By November 25, 2022

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact <u>colette@trinitylafco.org</u> or 530-227-6836 (cell).

Attachments: Official Ballot Form

#### OFFICIAL BALLOT TRINITY LAFCO INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT ELECTION – ALTERNATE MEMBER

Ballot Instructions: Vote with an "**X**" to the left of **one** candidate. Return Official Ballot in provided envelope to the Trinity LAFCo office by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, November 18, 2022.

Name of District:			-
Address:			-
Telephone:			-
Please vote for <u>one</u> of the	e following candidates	s for <u>ALTERNATE</u> Special Distric	ct Member:
Trinity Life Suppor	t Community Services [	District	
Dero FORSLUND	I		
Mountain Commu	nities Healthcare Distric	t	
		fill the four-year term expiring on <i>A</i> ncy Formation Commission.	April 30, 2026, as a Special
Board action taken on the	day of	, 2022, by the followir	ng vote:
AYES:			_
NOSE:			-
ABSTAIN:			-
ABSENT:			-
DISTRICT REPRESENTA	TIVE:		
Signature			

Printed Name / Title