

# TRINITY LAFCC

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

#### **AGENDA ITEM 6.A.**

MEETING: December 20, 2022

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Administrator/Clerk

**SUBJECT:** Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2023

### **BACKGROUND**

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

#### **DISCUSSION**

Each year the Board of Supervisors appoints three regular members and one alternate to the LAFCo Commission. These appointments are made for the 2023 calendar year in January.

The balloting period for the Alternate Special District seat concluded on November \_\_\_, 2023, with Todd Corbett of Trinity Life Support CSD receiving the majority of votes. Mr. Corbett will be seated as the Alternate Special District Member during this Regular Commission meeting (December 20, 2023) and will serve until April 30, 2026. Congratulations to Commissioner Corbett!

Regular Public Member positions are currently held by Commissioner Barrow and Burke with their terms expiring in 2023 and 2025, respectively. At the October 18, 2023 Regular Commission meeting, Commissioner Grossman-Crist was appointed as Alternate Public Member for the unexpired term that ends April 30, 2023.

Below is a current roster of the Commission with Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Jill Cox	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Keith Groves, Chair	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Jeremy Brown	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Public Member	Evan Barrow	4/30/2023
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member – Alternate	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2023

## **RECOMMENDATION**

The Commission is invited to discuss this item and provide direction to staff as needed.