

# **TRINITY LAFCO**

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16<sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

#### **AGENDA ITEM 6.A.**

**MEETING:** August 15, 2023

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer

**SUBJECT:** Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2023

### **BACKGROUND**

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

#### **DISCUSSION**

Currently the Alternate Public Member position is vacant as it expired on April 30, 2023. The Alternate Public Member position will remain open until filled. Qualifying candidates may be considered at the next LAFCo meeting on October 17, 2023. Applications received by Monday, October 9, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. will be considered at the Commission's October meeting.

Staff has published a Notice of Vacancy in the Trinity Journal with limited success. A draft flyer is attached and will be circulated and posted at various locations as directed by the Commission.

Listed below are current Commission members with their Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Heidi Carpenter-Harris	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Ric Leutwyler	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2027
Public Member – Alternate	Vacant	4/30/2027

## **RECOMMENDATION**

It is recommended that the Commission receive this report and provide direction to staff as needed.

Colette Santsche, Executive Officer: <a href="mailto:colette@trinitylafco.org">colette@trinitylafco.org</a>
Krystle Heaney, Clerk/Analyst: <a href="mailto:krystle@trinitylafco.org">krystle@trinitylafco.org</a>



Now Accepting Applications!
Trinity LAFCo • Alternate Public Member

Join Trinity LAFCo and help guide the provision of important services in your community like fire, water, electricity, and wastewater

Contact Krystle Heaney, Commission Clerk for more information on how to apply krystle@trinitylafco.org