

TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 1125 – 16th Street, Suite 200 Arcata, California 95521

AGENDA ITEM 6.B.

MEETING: December 19, 2023

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2023-24

BACKGROUND

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

DISCUSSION

Currently the Alternate Public Member position is vacant as it expired on April 30, 2023. The Alternate Public Member position will remain open until filled. Qualifying candidates may be considered at the next LAFCo meeting on February 20th, 2024. Applications received by Monday, February 12th, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. will be considered at the Commission's February meeting.

Commissioner Kasper has indicated upcoming resignation to LAFCo and as such, the Special District Seat 2 will be vacant. In April, Commissioner Johnson's seat will also be expiring. Staff will begin the special district election process in January starting with a call for nominations followed by the official balloting process.

Listed below are current Commission members with their Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Heidi Carpenter-Harris	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Ric Leutwyler	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Joseph Kasper	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2027
Public Member – Alternate	Vacant	4/30/2027

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission receive this report and provide direction to staff as needed.