

TRINITY LAFCO

www.trinitylafco.org 670 9th Street, Suite 202 Arcata, California 95521

AGENDA ITEM 6.D.

MEETING: April 30, 2024

TO: Trinity LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: Colette Santsche, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2023-24

BACKGROUND

The Commission consists of seven regular and three alternate members as follows:

- County Three regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
- Special Districts Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Independent Special Districts; and
- Public Members Two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Commission.

The term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act §56334 is four years and until the appointment and qualification of a successor. There are no term limits.

DISCUSSION

County Members were appointed at the January 3, 2024 Board of Supervisors meeting and the Public Member seats are being considered under Agenda Item 6.A.

Staff began the special district election process in January with a call for nominations. No nominations were received by the April 1st deadline so the nomination period has been extended to June 3, 2024. Staff will be reaching out to districts to ensure they have received the call for nominations. The Special District Selection Committee Meeting is tentatively scheduled for June 18, 2024 at 5:30pm.

Listed below are current Commission members with their Term of Office:

Designation	Current Member	Term of Office
County – Regular Member	Heidi Carpenter-Harris	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Dan Frasier	Annual Appointment
County – Regular Member	Liam Gogan	Annual Appointment
County – Alternate Member	Ric Leutwyler	Annual Appointment
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 1)	Andrew Johnson	4/30/2024
Special District – Regular Member (Seat 2)	Vacant	4/30/2026
Special District – Alternate	Todd Corbett	4/30/2026
Public Member	Anna C. Burke	4/30/2025
Public Member	Jake Grossman-Crist	4/30/2027
Public Member – Alternate	Vacant	4/30/2027

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission receive this report and provide direction to staff as needed.

Colette Santsche, Executive Officer: colette@trinitylafco.org
Krystle Heaney, Clerk/Analyst: krystle@trinitylafco.org